Post Boards Psychosis

Because of Maring, government offices have been closed for the past few days. PRC being a government office, the release of the results of the boards have been delayed, prolonging the agony and indecision of medical interns all over the country.

Fellow young doctors, if you care for it, my advice is this: plan for positive outcomes.

Pascal’s Wager is a philosophical argument that revolves around the existence of God. When we weigh the infinite gain or loss associated with belief in God, a rational person stands to gain much more from believing, whereas a loss resulting from unbelief will be limited and have less dire consequences.  In this case, believing that you will pass, i.e. betting on a positive outcome, will benefit you more. These benefits are not constrained to the obvious, such as getting requirements and submitting necessary applications in time. Rather, thinking about your post boards plans as soon as internship comes around will help you make decisions that are sound and clear, decisions that you will be more likely to commit to.

But who makes decisions during internship? Most of us just want to survive the daily grind. The only time that we really get to think about the future, at least in my case, was the week after the boards. This is that time for you. So, if you can, stop playing possum.  For me, it doesn’t matter if you decide to pursue residency, research, moonlighting, or other life interests. What matters is that you make a decision and stick to it.

When I was in limbo, I made the mistake of putting off decisions and getting requirements on the possibility that I might not actually pass the boards. Hello, yes, meet my former and occasional self, Negative Nancy. I felt like I could only think clearly about my options once I had the assurance that I actually had a license, and therefore, actual choices to make. Basically, and I’m only a little ashamed to admit this, I didn’t want to jinx things. I ended up wasting a lot of time and resources, which is obviously not good.

Let’s say that you do fail. What happens then? You wallow, drown in equal amounts of despair and alcohol, and then get back up and try again in February. While I am in no way minimizing the pain and difficulties of failing, and wish it on no one, eventually a person who fails will still have to make a decision. You try again, hopefully pass, and arrive at the the same crossroads. These are decisions that all of us will have to make at some point, and prolonging the inevitable does not equate to escaping it. Inevitable nga ‘di ba?

Bet on God; bet on the good. I hope for the best for all of you, because now, more than ever, the Philippines needs good doctors. In the event that the results are not what you were praying for, I hope that you don’t lose heart. Still, best of luck, and infinite peace.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

