WanderrGirl Challenge #1: Truths and Dares

IMG_2154

Dare is such an active word, evoking images of spinning bottles and alternatives to truth, of rush, of purpose, of flight, of doing. A dare is often fun and funny, loud and vibrant; it shouts from rooftops a will to do. But, what if dares can also be — not passive — but powerfully quiet? What if dare, for a day, decided that it was an introvert?

Dare to Read

In 1887 and the years that followed, the publication of Noli Me Tángere led to the imprisonment of at least one man, and indirectly — some speculate not entirely intentionally — catalysed a revolution.  It was a dangerous but unarguably stimulating read. These days, page-flipping hardly seems like a high-risk activity, and placing a novel on the Banned Book list strikes me as counterintuitive, as it only makes people want to read it more. But reading remains so subtly forceful, and yet it is often overlooked for activities that require less commitment, such as crushing confectionery and epic battles between fauna and the undead.

IMG_2161

Reading should never be a lost art. Read as often, as much, and as variedly as you can. Dare to read even those books that others have passed over. As Haruki Murakami wrote in Norwegian Wood, “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”

Dare to Think

Anagrammatically, I Dare You can also be Your Idea. That’s a happy coincidence, if there ever was one. We read to learn how things work, or how they could work, and also how they fail. Magic, or science, however you wish to see it, becomes greater when we take the amalgam of ideas from books and apply it to life. Think out of that overused box. Learn from anyone, learn from everyone.

Then learn how to filter.

Everyone starts out mimicking others — parents for what’s right and wrong, friends and faceless people from the Internet for what’s cool and uncool, books and journals for what’s scientifically sound and baloney (funny-sounding word). Ask yourself, why are things the way they are, and then ask, is there a better way? Everyone starts out with mimicry, but it is critical to learn how to think for yourself.

IMG_2163

Dare to Believe

Early-onset jadedness seems to be a problem for our generation. It’s hard not to succumb, really. Morning news programs report the destruction of life and property by man and/or nature, while late night news replay senate hearings of corruption and  unscrupulous magistrates and/or elected officials. Broken or physically separated families are the new normal. Swag is supposed to lend street cred. I doubt that anyone over twelve is still under the illusion that all is well in the world.

IMG_2164

This makes it all the more necessary to believe. Believing in something means that you can stand for something. Standing for something means that you can effect change, maybe not in the entire country and not in an instant, but at least in your sphere of influence. Chances are, you will be disappointed and frustrated more than once. Believe anyway. That is why it is a difficult dare. Believe in God, believe in family, believe in yourself, believe in change and possibility.

Dare to Be Quiet

Quiet is underrated. Quiet is one of those things that I wish I were more of than I actually am, but I’m working on it. Quiet means an absence of noise, but never an absence of thought. Quiet people tend to notice details more, and get into trouble less. Quiet people listen better. Quiet allows you time to read, think, pray, be. Those things are important, yes? And yet, it’s so hard for a lot of people to keep silent and sit still. Why is that?

IMG_2165

Dare to Stop Pause

I used to put such a premium on achievement, particularly on maximal achievement in minimal time. See, I have the tendency to live my life from point A to point B. That is, I power through from one life goal to another. The gaps in between I filled with books and movies. Often it meant I was too consumed in a task, sometimes it meant I wasn’t always there, and sometimes it meant that I kept waiting for something to happen.  I don’t think it’s the best way to live, but it was the way I knew how.  At one point, things started to feel too mechanical, overwhelming, and uninspired. I made more self-negating choices than usual. That was when I made the decision to pause, aka the time I decided to preserve my sanity. I have, for the most part, been glad that I did.

Even the best laid blueprints can go awry, and that’s normal. Life changes people, and people change plans. I am a firm advocate of taking the time to reassess your self, your values, and your goals. This takes a different kind of courage. There will be an opportunity cost — peers may or will get ahead of you in the game. Remember two things, though:

  1. It doesn’t have to be a race.
  2. Pause, but don’t stop.

IMG_2162

Dare to Grow

As crucial as taking stock of the situation is, it is equally important not to be paralysed by fear or complacency. Reconfigure, experiment, adjust, execute, and repeat. It’s rarely a linear process, and all the pauses are equally important as the proceedings.

Dare to be quiet, though it may be unfamiliar.

Dare to be brave in your choices.

Dare to be.

wanderrgirl-blogging-challenge

Photos are mine unless stated otherwise. They may be used with permission (Just drop a comment here or on twitter). Images edited using Over.
6 thoughts on “WanderrGirl Challenge #1: Truths and Dares

  1. I loved this! This right here is so true:

    “Often it meant I was too consumed in a task, sometimes it meant I wasn’t always there, and sometimes it meant that I kept waiting for something to happen”

    How do you know when it’s time to un-pause though? I’m struggling with that.

    • Hi! Thanks for dropping by 🙂 I’m not an expert yet (try me again in 3-5 years haha),so this is just based on personal experience. What I did for myself was set a limit. I took two years off. (The length of time depends on you, it could be shorter or longer.) When that time ended, I had to un-pause. For some problems, I had resolutions. For others, I still remained unsure. I guess those are the questions that can only be answered as you go along. As much as possible, just be the one to answer them, and not parents, friends, or convenience. Best of luck 🙂

  2. Hello! I love your take on this blogging challenge; not quite the conventional route of seeing “dares” as necessarily loud, blood-pumping, or life-threatening. I’m an introvert so what you listed in this entry pretty much constitute my normal daily life, but I know people who can’t imagine still being sane if they had to live life like I do. These would indeed be challenging for people who aren’t used to doing “introvert dares”!

    P.S. Basing on your other entries, I gather you’re an MD? If so, hello my colleague in the healthcare industry. 😀 I’m an RN (but currently working on becoming a registered psychologist soon). 🙂

  3. Pingback: maillot maroc

Leave a Reply

